A little me time…

I have spent a great deal of time inside just lately, my art, knitting, writing, all very productive but not exactly good for the soul. Today, despite the forecast being foggy, the sun was shining in my garden and I was called outside. We had the garden altered last year to make it easier for me to handle. We extended raised side beds instead of stepping-stones and pebbled paths that meandered round larger beds that were all but accessible to me and sowed some small grassy ‘lawns’ with a straight paved path down the middle. I must look out some pictures tomorrow. It worked beautifully. OK I had to sit down to weed and stuff but I did it! I am really pleased with myself.

I cleared out the weeds that were just beginning to grow, pruned blueberry bushes, the rosemary bush, roses, a senna tree and cut back the ferns. From my garden chair I removed the dried trailers from last year’s Morning Glory, weeded pots, transplanted the contents of overcrowded pots to the garden and rescued some bulbs that had been cast aside during last years revamp. They were in a plant pot base and were struggling to cast out roots and little green shoots so I planted them. All in all I was really pleased with what I achieved.

What was really lovely was the stillness of the air around me. It was like the earth was holding its breath while it waited for something to happen. A deep calmness came over me as I sat among the bare branches of the Forsythia and noticed the tiny buds beginning to grow. I found toadstools under the Firethorn in the corner of the garden, everywhere I looked and weeded, tiny shoots hid just beneath the surface waiting for their time. Bluebells, Lily of the Valley, daffodils, hyacinths, all in the bare, silent garden, Such peacefulness that I barely noticed the traffic in the distance such was the power of nature holding her breath.

Only one thing spoiled it for me, those damn bugs! I know that as soon as my young bedding plants go in and things begin to shoot, they will be there, rows of teeth at the ready. There were dozens of caterpillars, monkey peas and worst of all, my friend the snail. I cleared some ground cover plants to allow  a little plant to grow and there stuck to the wall beneath it were dozens of snails, piled one on top of the other there were over thirty in their hibernation. I love nature and the hardest thing I have to do is to kill anything and I couldn’t let them loose in my garden. I had to blank my mind as I dropped them into a bucket of boiling salted water. I figured it had to be the quickest and most humane way of dealing with them. As my plants begin to grow the caterpillars will devour the young shoots. Last year every flower that grew on my Primulas was eaten within a day, all the leaves on my roses and senna tree were stripped, nothing was left and despite my picking them off and letting them go elsewhere my garden was a tattered shadow of what it could be.

I gritted my teeth and bought a bug killer last year. I didn’t have the heart to use it. There are no veggies this year and the only fruit are the blueberries and maybe some strawberries later on, so there is no health reason why I shouldn’t spray this year. My biggest enemy is my conscience. I know they will grow into moths, even saw flies and the process is so wonderful. I love to see the tiger moths and little blues as they flutter about my garden but I also love the flowers I intend to plant this year, growing and bringing even more colour and calmness to my little outdoor sanctuary. Then what happens to the ladybirds and what do the frogs eat if I kill all the bugs, Oh help!

Today I worked in my garden, a little me time that filled me with peace. I will worry about the bugs another day. I would like to go out there again tomorrow, weather permitting, but I know the little I did today will prevent me moving tomorrow so maybe it will be warm enough for me to sit and just enjoy the stillness until the ‘noise’ of everything happening once spring arrives changes the ambience. I love me time!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] A little me time… (wordangell.wordpress.com) […]

  2. 2

    I certainly love all the tough effort that you’ve devoted to keeping this site available. I really hope this sticks around for a long time.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

