Postaday2011: No Topic

I say no topic because there wasn’t one that I could use today. I think I should have kept some from the past for such moments as these. Today we were asked about Donald Trump and whether he would make a good president. This is a difficult one because I am in the UK  and have no idea about Donald Trump unless I research him. I wish I knew then I could fill my blog for today.

Actually I am already pretty impressed with my blogging achievement so far. Normally I go for two or three weeks and fail to write any more be it blog or diary. Yet here I am at the end of April and apart from a few days when I was poorly or unable to get to my computer, I have blogged constantly. Pat on the back Marie!

Just recently, both Harry and I have come to a place in our lives where we needed to make changes. Some might say it was the seven year itch but whatever it is we are making big changes. We are able to let go of all the paraphernalia that we held onto from our pasts, clear the house of accumulated rubbish – well, it is useful stuff but if we haven’t used it is the past year then it is obsolete. It is actually quite difficult because as we take things out of their boxes, drawers, cupboards, the memories spill out along with each item. It is a hard task to think on each one for a moment, place that memory in its appropriate box in  our memories and let the object go.

Although hard at first it becomes easier and easier, our minds become clearer and clearer and we become closer and closer. Everything that held us to our pasts has gone and it has left – just us. It’s really nice, like a final commitment to each other. The house is underway but it never stopped there.

Both H and I have a weight problem. mine as much because of arthritis as anything because pain prevents me doing the exercise I need, and H well he sits all day, 12 hours a day to be precise, in an office after a 4.30 am start and he is tired a lot of the time. The new cleansing of everything has motivated us to try to do more for ourselves too. Now the gym would be a waste of money for me but a boon for Harry, I, on the other hand am joining a slimming class. H did go once but he is a rough, tough ex submariner… it was definitely not his thing. So I control the meals according to what I know and he does the more guy stuff at the gym. I will of course be trying to exercise a lot more but mine has to be at my pace and according to my pain levels, but I am going to do what I can.

So here is to a total decluttering of us at the same time. I will log our progress, not because it is to be the main topic but , hopefully, to encourage anyone out there trying to lose weight too. If you think you have weight problems, wait till you see what we have to crack!

I apologise to all the American folk out there for knowing nothing about who would be a good president but thank you for your blogs that give insight to your lives in the US. Watch this space for some shocking weight information from this corner of the UK.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    We recently cleared our garage of all the toot we had accumulated over the last 5years so I can really relate to your words 🙂 It felt great!

    Good luck with your diet regime and slimming class – any idea which diet you are going to try? I keep saying I MUST lose weight…but I am dreadful. It will be interesting to follow your progress…perhaps I should join you 🙂

    all the best
    PiP

    • 2

      wordangell said,

      It sure is a great feeling Carole, long way to go, spent al day catching up on the ironing, so back to it tomorrow. The four day bank holidays will help, H can help too. x

  2. 3

    Patti said,

    Great plans – much more interesting than anything about Donald Trump. My husband and I have worked hard to lose our excess middle-age weight this year. It’s tough and it’s worth it – I look forward to hearing about your progress.

    • 4

      wordangell said,

      Hi Patti, I am not sure about middle age spread but maybe a lifetime. It’s hard to post but if it helps one person… I guess I am going to have to ‘bare all’. Harry and I are approaching it different ways but I reckon he gets the best deal, he goes to the gym and I do the dietry stuff… hmmm. x

  3. 5

    Patti said,

    I got to do the work for both me and my husband – his approach was to eat only what I allowed and it worked like a charm!

    • 6

      wordangell said,

      I guess that is good as long as he sticks to what I give him but if H does the shopping I have lost the battle, he includes icecream, sugary stuff, which I hate, energy drinks – lethal.. I will work on him for that, at the moment he agrees… I sure am going to try though… he is fired at the moment, the gym might be his answer… I hope so. It sure shows that it is us girls that have the upper hand….
      M x


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

