Postaday2011: Slugs and Bugs and pussy cats.

Before I go on my rant I have to say a huge thank you to all my children , for my cards and gifts and spending time with me, texting me,  phoning me and messaging me on FB. I am a very blessed Mummy, thank you all for being you. xx

Now, my rant. I have arthritis and don’t move around very well which is why it is good that I only have a small manageable garden, well it is manageable most of the time. Any heavy work I have to get someone in to do it for me. I have two raised beds and added a small side ‘box’ to plant my blueberry bushes out last year. I have a raised pond, a patio area and barbecue that rarely gets used. Most people who know my Harry understand that he is not a gardener any more than he is any good at DIY. Bless him, he tries hard, in fact he is very trying. I mean last year he stood stock still while a small frog sat on a rock near him and never ran up the garden like a bat out of hell like he usually does when he sees any creature. Especially non favourite are frogs, or worms or snails, more so any rodents and definitely newts and slow worms. So you can see, the garden is my domain and I do the best I can with it. This picture was taken a couple of years ago when I was still able to garden without pain. I am standing on the patio area by the arch and there are two raised beds either side, only low but plenty enough to enable me to garden, mind you I am considering raising them a bit more these days.

 

The second picture is looking down the garden toward the patio area. I have to say many of the plants have gone now and I have planted herbs for my kitchen, much more manageable.

 

 

The third and fourth pictures are the pond which is raised on two sleepers and so much easier to handle than had it been at floor height. The fish must be happy because every year they breed and we end up with dozens of baby fish. We also have a  load of tadpoles which is Harry’s cue to avoid the garden once they have hatched.

So that leaves me, who lived in the country before moving to Gosport and have no fear of creatures as long as they don’t have more legs than my cats, to manage the garden. So how do I keep the bugs and slugs and cats at bay. I plant, the cats dig up the flowers, I grow and slugs and caterpillars eat my plants and greenfly have a field day. I won’t even mention the fungus and plant diseases. I mean I have tried everything possible and every year I try to be as organic as possible. I place pepper on the soil, spray everywhere with lemon juice, chop lemons and scatter them round the garden, cover what I can with nets, go round and collect and take away caterpillars and snails.

So you see I do try, but by the end of the summer I have resorted to slug bait and apologies to the little froglets and creatures that live in the garden, I spray with commercial bug spray and kill the weeds on the pathways with Weedol or some chemical spray that doesn’t really do the trick. As a last resort I call a gardener to come and help me weed and I feel ashamed that I have failed to keep a natural garden.

I will keep trying but I have to take things very slowly, do everything sitting down and make it look as good as possible within my limitations. I hope to get out there and take some before photos from this year. I don’t hold out much hope though. The cats have dug three holes, and used the netting for their toilet, The primulas I put in have had their flowers eaten already and the violas are covered with white fly and greenfly. That’s all in a week!! I am going to be strong, I will have a nice garden. Well, I am a good dreamer.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I love your garden…are you sure groundforce did not come in to design it?

    I can really relate to your post! I don’t have cats but the cat up the road has just discoved my new raised veg plot. When I discovered the hole I wanted to commit murder…It’s so unfair when you don’t have animals of your own.
    Bugs, I love bugs but even I have resorted to slug pellets under the nets so the birds dont eat them.
    I stood for ages looking at eh buglife in my small veggie patch yesterday and it struck me there was probably more wildlife in there than whipsnade zoo.

    PS have you tried Lions pooh to deter cats? NExt time the circus is in town I am going to ask for some 🙂 Not sure how this will translate in Portuguese…so I will probably told to go in the pen and collect it myself.

  2. 2

    wordangell said,

    Hi Carole, The lady who lived here before desogned it and it looks lovely when it is in full glory but it really isn’t practical. I have to watch where I walk in case I trip, being a bit dodgy on the legs these days, the children also trip. Trouble is I love it, the garden was one aspect that sold us the house, and unpractical as it is I keep going with it. We thought of changing the path system and have run a path of slabs to make it easier for me instead. As for the cats, everything is covered or has some sort of deterrent. I left one large pot with a fuschia that I am hoping will come back up this year and guess what.. It was dug up yesterday, they really are very persistent here. I did catch the caterpillar that was munching my primulas though but not before he’d eaten all the petals grr, but the violas my granddaughter helped me plant look as though they are dying…. I have no idea why but there are a few ants about, maybe they are tunnelling under them.
    Someone else mentioned lion poo, I would have to go to a zoo I think, unless some entrepeneur has dried it somehow and they sell it in the garden centre. Maybe there’s an opening for you??? I am sure if you speak to them politely they will leave you alone, maybe even be so grateful that you are cleaning the habitat a bit they will pile it into a corner for you… the lions that is… good luck on that one and do be sure to blog about it won’t you…lol x

  3. 5

    Sara said,

    Oh I hate slugs – you’re right…they eat everything in sight. I have had an awful time this season already. I was looking online to get advice for a good repellent, and came across this hilarious video: http://youtu.be/cMssG-66oTE.

    It’ll give you a good laugh 🙂

    -Sara

    • 6

      wordangell said,

      Sorry for the delay in replying Sara, I loved the TV ad. so funny, makes you feel kinda sorry for them doesn’t it. Our slug bait is bright blue and kills straight away, not nice but essential where we live. x


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

