Postaday2011: If I could master any skill instantly.

I chose to write using the prompt, mainly because it is such a lovely thing to think about. My brain is addled from lack of sleep and am not working at full capacity yet, so what better way to drift into my blog than dreaming of what I would love to have as a skill. I suppose I am blessed really and often I feel I don’t appreciate just what I can do, enough. Everything I have had a go at has gone two ways, either it really isn’t my thing and I have abandoned it,  sometimes, it has abandoned me, but other stuff has been really successful. In fact most of what I have set out to do has been successful, if I am honest. Not in a major way but enough to please me, which is all that matters really.

The skill I would so love to have instantly is playing the piano. It has always been my dream. Music has always played a huge part in my life one way or the other. As a child I played the violin, I played in the orchestra, I also learned the recorder – which was pretty compulsory back in the fifties and I learned to sing. So I can read music, or should I say, I could read music. I am hoping it is like riding a bike or swimming, once you have done it you never forget. My love of music started back in the classroom, I have blogged about this before so I won’t go over it but from that moment, although I did various things with the school choir, I always enjoyed singing.

As I got older and had my own family, I joined the church choir and became introduced to beautiful choral pieces. I went on to have voice training and sang at a wedding and a christening as well as various special occasions with different choirs. The Albert Hall was the most wonderful experience I have ever had, with much gratitude to my friend Judith. All these experiences were so fulfilling and I cherish their memories so much, particularly now that I can no longer sing. However, along that journey I decided to learn the piano. At one time the choir mistress was also a piano teacher so I went along to lessons and even had my own piano.

I bought it really cheap and had it tuned. It turned out to be the most wonderful sounding instrument I have ever heard. It was rather too big for our house and was quite battered but  internally it was sound. It had metal, twin harps and as soon as I heard it, I was in love. The sound was exquisite and I have only heard the same from grand pianos since. The resonance was so pure and beautiful and therefore the pitch was perfect. I have always had perfect pitch hearing and voice and it is hard now, having lost a lot of hearing, to not know how accurate my voice would be any more.

I practiced hard and learned to play music up to level three. How wonderful it was to hear such lovely stuff come from nothing. I had mastered Fur Elise and was working on The Moonlight Sonata, these were the last pieces I played and have regretted not keeping it up ever since.

However, and I just heard this quote on my favourite movie trailer…’ Living in the past can have no future.’ My favourite movie is Truly, Madly, Deeply. and in that film is the most amazing piece of music ever.. it is a piece by Bach for piano and cello and was arranged by Barrington Pheloung, I managed to get a copy of the original Bach music and am determined to have a go at learning it, on keyboard. Living with regrets isn’t productive and ok so there are many things I cannot do any more but I can at least try… Time to dig out my music methinks and give it a go. If nothing else it will keep the little grey cells occupied and active, keep my fingers mobile to help the arthritis and give me a little of what I love.

OK I might not ever be a concert pianist, and I certainly will never master this instantly but from little acorns …. or to put it another way.. if I never try, I will never know.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Patti said,

    For me, it’s a toss-up between playing the violin or painting – maybe I’ll stop by for you to teach me!

    And I love Truly, Madly, Deeply. I haven’t seen it in a long time – could you tell me, does it have anything inappropriate for a preteen who adores Alan Rickman? I don’t remember any objectionable material in the film, but thought I should check before I just let her watch it.

  2. 2

    wordangell said,

    Hi Patti, How wonderful it is to find someone who adores the same stuff as I do! Truly, Madly, Deeply is a fantastic film and as far as I can remember, there is nothing objectionable. The issues with death and dying and moving on apart, there is no bad language or sex scenes. I think that this is one of the many reasons I love this film.. but I think I might just have to make sure for you… I will watch it tomorrow to check. hehehe…What a wonderful excuse! I’ll do my ironing as I watch it to make it ok…. Painting is easier for me today because I have arthritis and I gave my violin to my grandson, but I am sure I could still pick it up and play. Music is such a wonderful gift in this world… Tahnk you so much for popping by x

  3. 3

    Marit said,

    Don’t leave it any longer, Marie. I finished playing the piano at the same level as you (something else we have in common) – but my hands are too ‘mangled’ with RA to think of taking it up again. Keep those fingers moving! Piano music is wonderful. My mother played by ear, and I always thought she couldn’t read music, then on my very last visit before she was taken ill, she told me that she had always been able to, but preferred not to. Her playing always brought tears to my eyes.

    • 4

      wordangell said,

      Thank you for popping by Marit, I really must get H to go into the loft and see if he can find my music. Probably forgotten everything after all this time. It’s strange how close our lives been and really nice to know I am really saner than I thought, lol. I don’t know what I would do if I didnt have lots of hobbies.. xx

  4. 5

    […] Postaday2011: If I could master any skill instantly. (wordangell.wordpress.com) […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

