After the Rain.

How lovely to get a bit of rain. I can say that on my blog but if I say it to many people I get a grumble. Ok, I agree, if the rain spirit or whoever controls the weather is listening, it would be great if it rained all night and was sunny again in the morning, Oh and not till after at least 11pm in case I go out. Wouldn’t that be good?

I hate going out in the rain, there’s nothing worse than walking round in wet clothes. I remember one day at uni, I had walked the mile or so from the station and the skies were giving their all. Everyone was absolutely drenched, it took only seconds to be soaked to the skin. We loyally attended our lecture feeling miserable and uncomfortable until the lecturer walked in. ‘What is it about today’s weather… everyone smells like wet dog!’ Somehow it didn’t matter after that. I try and think nice thoughts and look for something nice about the rain.

Sometimes I take my camera and photograph raindrops as they run down the window. Do you know, when you look through a raindrop at the world beyond it is so clean and pure. The colours are vibrant, the world is fresh. I sometimes thought about writing a story about stepping into the world through a raindrop… I think it might be too boring for most people. What a great meditation though. I can smell the freshness in the cool air. The leaf mould, grass, trees and flowers all release their own unique perfume once the dust of the dry weather has been washed from them. The air is cleaner for a wash too and the blackbird’s song is purer and sweeter after the rain, each note travelling with ease through the freshness instead of fighting an atmosphere filled with exhaust fumes and dust.

So that is what I try to think about when it is raining and I look forward to stepping out into my little garden to see what has happened out there once the rain has stopped. I won’t even mention my garden enemy number one, he with the slime trial silvering the pathways… OOps I did, ah well enough of such talk. Thinking of silver, have you ever taken a look at raindrops on cabbage or nasturtium leaves. Captured in every available crevice is a tiny globule of silver, as pure as a diamond. When you tremble the leaf slightly the droplet moves like quicksilver as it can find nothing to hold onto that might capture it. Like a shy fairy, it speeds to the end of the leaf and disappears before it can be captured. So beautiful a sight; a raindrop in a cabbage leaf.

In the damp misty rain my world is decorated with jewel laden webs. I know I make fun of my spider problem but their webs draped in miniature  misted raindrops that have been captured in the trellis or a plant reminds me of  the fairy stories I used to tell my two youngest girls as we walked the mile to school down country roads on damp or frosted mornings. Isn’t it true that each web has surely captured a diamond laden piece of fabric that has been spun especially for the fairy queen’s dress as it was hung in the wind to dry?

I know, you think I’ve lost it! Maybe I have but who cares? Bet none of you were thinking of getting wet and miserable for the few seconds it took you to read my ramblings and now you are smiling!

Here’s a picture of one of my cobwebs:

You have to agree they do look so magical. I hope that maybe, just maybe, I might have got you to look at the rain from a different point of view – after the sun comes out anyway!

Leave a Reply

