Roots and Wings

It has been around seven years since I saw my grandchildren ( my eldest son’s children) and I cannot believe how tall the boys were. The youngest was two when I saw him last and the older lad around five or six. They came for lunch and stayed till mid evening, so lovely to spend time with my daughter in law and and her friend too. I don’t have a passport and have never been a traveller, silly really when I consider I have grandchildren in Florida, Spain and Switzerland and well everyone gets on with their life, we do rely on the internet for communication though and it does bring everyone together. It is really amazing in one way because I am sure we share more things and say more things than if we were closer to eachother.  One good thing about my children marrying people from other countries is that I get to learn so much about the different cultures. My daughter in America was so staunchly British and determined to stay that way and now when I listen to her she has a definite American accent. It takes a few minutes of taking to on the phone and she lapses back into English again but her values are so much different from those in our family here. I think mainly because of the opportunities over there. Although I always worked, I was a stay at home Mum in that until they were all at school we sort of worked shifts so at least one of us was at home. We also lived in the country which was a totally different way of life too, but in America everything is planned and carried out to the letter. My daughter works so hard, she has put herself through college and is one year from graduating as an SRN I think it is, and she has worked as well as being a mum to her two gorgeous boys.  I am so proud of her. The system over there is totally unlike here, no NHS, education is expensive etc etc and her and her husband work so hard for their little family. In Spain, well North Spain it is a totally different culture to even southern Spain… Suzi says it is like going back in time. the shops have shop keepers and you have to ask for what you want,,, so , says she, how do you know what you want if you cannot see it on the shelves? People do many things for themselves, elderly ladies grow vegetables in small plots of land and sell it in the market for pennies, the children seem to stay up till gone 11pm and strangers come and tell you off in the street if they think you are doing something wrong with your child. My daughter is doing attachment parenting and so carries her 20 month old daughter in a sling rather than a buggy, she gets told off all the time yet as she says, the pavements are so rough and often you have to walak in the road because there is a lamp in the middle of the path…. sooo different.

So I love to hear of the ways things are in each country, we share ideas and swap recipes, and yes I miss them all the time, I’d love to have my grandchildren close and my children. I have never known what it is like to have any of my eight children living close to me, the nearest is an hour away which isnt too bad, I don’t drive but they pop over and we do go up there for parties and visits, once their baby arrives it might be different, a baby to share will be lovely and a perfect excuse. But you know, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I do feel selfish when I long to have them nearer but I know that the two most important things I could give them are roots and wings. I would never have stopped them from going and bless them, every one of them has asked if I minded. I wanted to scream yes I do mind, please don’t go, but I would never have forgiven myself if I thought I had prevented them from such wonderful opportunities. One thing for sure, it makes it so very special when they do come over to visit.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Laura said,

    HA HA HA… come on now, do you honestly think “I” would have listened if you had said “no” lol… Dad told me “You’re not going Laura” um yeah Dad ok then! ;0) Can we say STUBBORN!

    Love you lots!
    Miss you tons
    xxx

    • 2

      wordangell said,

      Not for a minute love, but I appreciated being asked and it made me feel special. Thank you for that, love you always. Mum xxx


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

